top of page

Connecticut Boxing Hall of Fame Announces 2016 Award Winners Shelly Vincent 1st female Fighter of th

CBHOF 2016 Fighter of the Year Shelly Vincent

(Photo by Ed Diller / DiBella Entertainment)

UNCASVILLE, Conn. (October 18, 2016) - The Connecticut Boxing Hall of Fame (CBHOF) has announced its 2016 award winners, including its first female Boxer of the Year, popular super bantamweight Shelly "Shelito's Way" Vincent.

The 2016 award winners, as well as its Class of 2016 inductees, will be honored Friday night, November 4, in the Uncas Ballroom at Mohegan Sun, at the 12TH annual CBHOF Gala Induction Dinner.

Other 2016 CHBOF award winners include Jacob Marrero, Amateur Boxer of the Year; Mike Mazzulli, Professional Boxing Official of the Year; Heather Concepcion, Amateur Boxing Official of the Year; Pete Hary, Contribution to Professional Boxing;and Carlos Nieves Contribution to Amateur Boxing.

The new CBHOF inductees are Stamford amateur coach/boxer Orlando Montalvo, Newington former ESPN boxing director Bob Yalen, Wallingford boxer Sean Malone, Jr., New Bedford (MA) boxer "Sucra" Ray Oliveira, Waterbury judge/referee John "Duke" Lawson and Mashantucket Pequot Game & Athletic commissioner Kenny Reels.

This year's class hails from all over Connecticut and from every segment of the sport," CBHOF president John Laudati said. "We've inducted great boxers and trainers Orlando Montalvo, Ray Olivieri and Sean Malone Jr. We've also acknowledged the tremendous contributions to the sport by Bob Yalen and Kenny Reels. From my hometown of Waterbury comes world renowned boxing judge and referee Johnny "Duke" Lawson. This year's class of boxers and officials of the year is incredibly accomplished and includes the first woman professional Boxer of the Year, Shelly Vincent. Emcee Harold Lederman is an icon of the boxing world and he will surely keep us entertained all night."

Vincent (18-1), fighting out of Providence, is arguably the most popular boxer in New England. A native of New London, she has won two world title, Universal Boxing Federation (UBF) and International Boxing Association (IBA). She has fought 10 times in Connecticut without a loss during her professional career, 6-0 at Foxwoods Resort Casino, 4-0 at Mohegan Sun.

Past CHBOF Boxers of the Year include Chad Dawson (3X), Luis Rosa, Jr. (2X),Matt Remillard (2X), Eric Harding, Delvin Rodriguez, Tony Grano and Mike Oliver.

Representing the Ortiz Boxing Gym in Bridgeport, Marrero is the Northeast Regional champion, and he was the 2015 USA Boxing's Prep National Championship gold-medal winner in the 125-pound division.

Mazulli is president of the powerful Association of Boxing Commissions (ABC) and longtime Director of Athletic Regulations for Mohegan Sun.

Hary is a veteran professional boxing judge as well as CHBOF vice president, while Nieves is head coach/owner of Ortiz Boxing Gym in Bridgeport.

Tickets for the CBHOF 12th annual Gala Induction Dinner, reasonably priced at $90.00, will soon go on sale and be available to purchase by calling Kim Baker at Mohegan Sun (1.860.862.7377) or Sherman Cain at the Manchester Journal Inquirer (1.800.237.3606 X321). Doors open at 5:30 p.m. ET, cocktails from 6:30-7:30 p.m. ET (cash bar), followed by a full sit-down dinner.

Go online to for additional information about the Connecticut Boxing Hall of Fame, its 12th annual Gala Inductee Dinner, event sponsorship opportunities, or past CBHOF inductees.

ABOUT CBHOF: The Connecticut Boxing Hall of Fame was founded in 2004 to honor and celebrate the careers of outstanding individuals involved in the sport of boxing. Its inaugural Induction Ceremony & Dinner was held in 2005. Connecticut's rich boxing history could never have flourished if it weren't for the achievements of those enshrined in the Hall of Fame.

As a non-profit organization, the Connecticut Boxing Hall of Fame is deeply committed to keeping the fighting spirit of Connecticut thriving through various charitable contributions.

bottom of page