top of page

Timothy Bradley, Melvina Lathan & Sadam Ali Leading 2015 Award Winners honored @ 29th Annual Rin

NEW YORK, NY (December 21, 2015) - A capacity crowd enjoyed the recent 29thannual Ring 8 Holiday Event and Awards Ceremony at Russo's On The Bay in Howard Beach, New York.

Five-time, two-division world champion Timothy "Desert Storm" Bradley received the Ring 8 Fighter of the Year Award. Other 2015 Ring 8 award winners (see complete list below) included former New York State Athletic Commission chairperson Melvina Lathan (Woman of the Decade), undefeated No. 1 world welterweight contender Sadam "World Kid" Ali (NY Fighter of the Year), Heather Hardy (NY Female Fighter of the Year), "Ireland's" John Duddy (Uncrowned Champion), Andre Rozier (Trainer of the Year) and Joe DeGuardia (Promoter of the Year). Randy Gordon served as the Master of Ceremonies.

"We had 340 people and everybody enjoyed themselves," reported Ring 8 presidentBob Duffy. "Things went very well. There were a few emotional acceptance speeches and some tears shed.

"We donated a table to Wounded Warriors and also presented Keith Sullivan with a special trophy for all the legal work and support he gives Ring 8, New York State Boxing Hall of Fame, Atlas Foundation, Boxing Writers Association of America, and boxing in New York."

2015 RING 8 Award Winners

Fighter of the Year: Timothy Bradley

Woman of the Decade: Hon. Melvina Lathan

NY Fighter of the Year: Sadam Ali

NY Female Fighter of the Year: Heather Hardy

Uncrowned Champion: John Duddy

Co-Cutmen of the Year: George Mitchell & Mike Rella

Board Member of the Year: Billy Strigaro

Trainer of the Year: Andre Rozier

Community Service Award: Kevin Collins & Gerard Wilson

Promoter of the Year: Joe DeGuardia

Sponsor of the Year: George O'Neill

Official of the Year: Carlos Ortiz, Jr.

Amateur Official of the Year: Christina Vila

Long & Meritorious Service Award: Jack Hirsch

Profiles of Courage Award: Paddy Dolan

Prospects of the Year: Wesley Ferrer & Danny Gonzales

Ring Announcer of the Year: David Diamante

Patriotism Award: Corporal Ron McNair, Jr.

(Photos by Peter Frutkoff)

bottom of page